Tea Time, Anyone? Shall I Suggest Bigelow?

IMG_0016

Oh, the beautiful simplicity of time spent sipping tea.

 

In mid-morning, as I sit at my home office desk – working away – I take a short break and brew myself a cup of nice, hot tea. I take it plain. No sugar, no cream, no sweetener of any kind. Just a tea bag and water.

And you know what? It tastes so amazing.

Before I took control of my health last summer, I used to consume copious amounts of sweet iced tea. A staple of Southern life, sweet tea had a hold on me…so much so that my love of the syrupy drink nearly sent me into diabetes.

Yep, the brakes were applied and I ditched sugar on the spot.

But tea? No, I couldn’t live without my favorite beverage. I learned to drink it again with no sweeteners. It took awhile to get used to the taste, but now I prefer it plain. Even if I decided to use sugar again, which I do not foresee happening, I will always take my iced tea plain.

The same with hot.

Funny thing about hot tea. Growing up and living my entire life in the South – enduring scorching summers, short springs and very mild autumns – I never took to drinking hot drinks. Maybe in the winter I’d have a hot chocolate, but that was it. Hot drinks on a hot day? No thank you.

Nowadays, as an avid hot tea drinker, I have developed a taste and tolerance for the beverage at all times of the year.

Have tea bag, will drink tea!

Lately, I’ve been exploring the Bigelow brand of tea and must say that it has quickly become a favorite. Let me share some of my impressions of the flavors I’ve tried.

I have always adored Earl Grey, and I think that Bigelow has mastered this one. It’s a rich bergamot flavor that will satisfy any fan of Earl Grey. The one thing I’ve noticed about Bigelow is the intensity of flavors each choice offers. You know you’re in possession of a premium brand, especially if the only tea you’ve only ever had has been the standard, run-of-the-mill black tea.

Another of their teas, their proprietary blend called Constant Comment, was a true surprise. On a whim I decided to pick up a box, and upon opening the first package I was delighted with the aroma. Kind of citrusy, it blossomed into an intricate bouquet that is difficult to put into words. You have to taste it to understand what I can’t explain.

Their American Breakfast tea is like the old Jolt Cola. Bold flavor with just a touch of natural honey sweetness and a big caffeine bang. If you’re sluggish, one cup of this will get you going in a hurry. I depend on this for those mornings when I’m still just a bit too sleepy.

Last but not least, their English Teatime is a great, smooth black tea perfect for anytime of day or night. I can imagine this would taste great with a sweet treat or a sandwich. As I no longer eat grains or sugar, I can just imagine, but you can try it and see how it works.

As I work my way through these boxes, I plan to try other brands of boxed tea and will review them as I try them. For now, if you’re a tea lover and you’ve never given Bigelow a try, may I suggest you pick up a box?

I think you’ll be as pleasantly surprised as I have been. Happy tea drinking!

6 thoughts on “Tea Time, Anyone? Shall I Suggest Bigelow?

  1. Hi! Love your blog! I will definitely give this brand a try. I just reviewed a tea on my site. Would love it if you took a look! futurenursemiriam.wordpress.com

    Happy tea drinking!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

