It’s my blogging anniversary? Who knew?

Well, I admit I’ve been really slack on blogging this year, and for that I apologize. My life took off in a hugely different direction right after I began putting this blog together. My absence is proof that I’ve been over-busy.

Earlier this year, Dean was asked to join a brand new rockabilly/blues band called King Cat and the Elders. He’s the bass player. The band will have their debut at the Arts in the Heart of Augusta Festival on Sunday, September 18.

All year long, Dean has been working hard to learn songs he barely knew and/or never heard, playing a style totally foreign to him, and he’s doing very well. This has been a huge learning curve for my hubby. You take someone who can play a bass guitar like Chris Squire from Yes and toss him into the rockabilly world…well…let’s just say that’s one heck of a transition to make! But make it he has. I can’t wait for everyone to see him on stage in his first gig as a member of any kind of band.

See, you’re never to old to have a dream come true!

But back to the anniversary of this blog…yes, I do tend to run around in circles when I write…and I apologize.

I logged in here this afternoon to see what was going on, as I’m about to take this into a different and hopefully more interesting direction. When I logged in, I saw that it was my one year anniversary here at WordPress.com.

One full year.

I remember signing up, thinking that I was going to write a little something a few times a week, just snapshots of a simple life as a work-at-home housewife/artist/writer. I posted a few things in February. Then, the band thing started, I self-published a book, started three more, spent more time with friends and family, and most recently got involved pretty heavily with the fandom surrounding the New Jersey rock legends the Smithereens.

That’s a story in itself, fit for a future blog post. Oh, the Smithereens!

Among so many things going on, I’ve managed to keep my mind on my job during the day while in the evenings and on weekends I am caught up in a swoop of energy and excitement.

Part of that excitement is the direction in which I want to take this blog.

As someone who recently hit a milestone birthday, I want to focus the blog not only on day to day things but also on beauty, style, thrift store shopping, music, and other things that women like me might enjoy reading and seeing.

What do I mean by “women like me” you might ask?

Well, I’m of a certain age now (hello AARP) and was a teen/young adult who came of age in the 80’s. As such, I have vivid memories of all the cool things that were happening back then.

If I had to label myself, I would have to say I am a gothic beatnik rockabilly girl…part Bauhaus, part Jack Kerouac, part Brian Setzer. Yep, there’s no doubt about it. I’m different.

Are you a woman like me?

  • A woman like me loves minimalist style yet enjoys fabulous and outrageous fashion accessories and makeup designs. She’s not afraid to wear feathers, snake print pants and purple lipstick.
  • A woman like me enjoys thrifting and putting together outfits from pieces that she finds in thrift stores. She’s not afraid to tell others about her amazing finds and where she found them.
  • A woman like me likes to listen to a broad range of music styles and is open to discovering new and new-to-her talent. She’s not afraid to admit that she hasn’t heard of an artist and is willing to check that artist out…knowing that there is a chance she might become a new fan.
  • A woman like me has a strong artistic and creative bent. She likes to make wearable art: funky jewelry, crocheted and knitted items, repurposed clothing. She likes to make visual art. She likes to make music. She practices any art form with her utmost attention and revels in the creative process.
  • A woman like me is in love with her life and embraces her eccentricities, shunning societal expectations of what a woman should be. She’s not afraid to do what she wants and makes her own decisions about her body and her appearance and cares not what others think.

If you’re a woman like me, then I hope you will enjoy where I’m planning to take this blog.

Thanks for coming along for the ride. Let’s explore this crazy little thing called life together!

 

 

2 thoughts on “It’s my blogging anniversary? Who knew?

Leave a Reply

